Type keyword(s) to search


Jeopardy! Champs Matt Amodio and Amy Schneider Will Face Off in a New Spinoff

ABC is also beefing up its competition slate with more Claim to Fame and Celebrity Family Feud.
  • Jeopardy! all-stars Matt Amodio and Amy Schneider (Photo courtesy of Jeopardy Productions)
    Jeopardy! all-stars Matt Amodio and Amy Schneider (Photo courtesy of Jeopardy Productions)

    More Jeopardy! is on the way at ABC.

    At the Television Critics Association 2023 Winter Press Tour on Wednesday, ABC announced a new spinoff, Jeopardy! Masters, in which six of the show's highest-ranked contestants of all time will compete for a grand prize (and ultimate bragging rights). Jeopardy! GOAT and current host Ken Jennings will oversee the primetime affair.

    The first-ever Jeopardy! Masters include Matt Amodio, who currently holds the No. 3 spots for both all-time consecutive games won and highest winnings in regular season play ($1,518,601); Sam Buttrey, the 2021 Professors Tournament champion; Andrew He, 2022 Tournament of Champions runner-up; James Holzhauer, the 2019 TOC winner and No. 3 on the all-time winnings list ($2,962,216); Mattea Roach, the show's first Gen Z super-champion; and Amy Schneider, 2022 TOC winner and Jeopardy!'s first openly-trans phenom.

    In addition to expanding the Jeopardy! universe, ABC has ordered a second season of Claim to Fame, the show of the summer that went on to nab the No. 10 spot on Primetimer's list of the Best TV Shows of 2022. The network declined to offer any specific details or premiere information for Claim to Fame Season 2, but it promises "double the fun, with super-sized competition, drama, and more."

    ABC has also renewed Celebrity Family Feud and Press Your Luck for Seasons 9 and Season 5, respectively. Steve Harvey will return to host the celebrity game show, while Elizabeth Banks will continue to help contestants avoid Press Your Luck's devilish WHAMMY as host and executive producer.

    But the game show fun doesn't stop there. According to Deadline, ABC has renewed Jeopardy! and Wheel of Fortune, the two most popular shows in syndication, for five years, through the 2027-2028 season. The renewals will bring Jeopardy! and Wheel through their 44th and 45th seasons, respectively.

    Looking ahead to this winter and spring, ABC has recruited top musical talent to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Schoolhouse Rock! with a singalong event. Ryan Seacrest will serve as headmaster for the special, which will see stars including the Black Eyed Peas, Ne-Yo, Julianne Hough, and the Muppets perform iconic songs "I'm Just a Bill," "Three Is A Magic Number," and "Verb: That's What's Happening." Schoolhouse Rock! The 50th Anniversary Singalong airs Wednesday, February 1 on ABC.

    On the scripted front, the network announced a host of exciting renewals and special events. Just hours after dominating the comedy categories at the Golden Globe Awards, Abbott Elementary has been renewed for a third season. Quinta Brunson's sitcom has grown its audience considerably this year — viewership in the key 18-49 demographic have increased 31% over last season — and now ranks as ABC's No. 1 series this season.

    This April, daytime TV lovers are invited to join in as General Hospital celebrates 60 years on the air. In honor of the milestone, General Hospital will air a special episode honoring the late Sonya Eddy, who played head nurse Epiphany Johnson since 2006, and bring back the popular Nurses Ball, a fictional charity event featuring red carpet glamor and musical performances from the citizens of Port Charles. Most notably, ABC will dedicate a stage at Prospect Studios to the daytime soap, forever commemorating its legacy and impact on the medium.

    Ahead of its February 8 premiere, comedy series Not Dead Yet has added a fun array of guest stars who will play dead people imparting life advice to obituary writer Nell Serrano (Gina Rodriguez). These ghostly visitors include Ed Begley Jr. (Amsterdam), Mo Collins (Fear the Walking Dead), Paula Pell (Saturday Night Live), and Brittany Snow (X).

    Join the discussion about Jeopardy! in our forums.

    Claire Spellberg Lustig is the Senior Editor at Primetimer and a scholar of The View. Follow her on Twitter at @c_spellberg.

    TOPICS: Jeopardy! Masters, ABC, Celebrity Family Feud, Claim to Fame, Amy Schneider, James Holzhauer, Ken Jennings, Matt Amodio, Game Shows, Television Critics Association 2023 Winter Press Tour