Type keyword(s) to search

TV This Weekend

Maisel and Space Force Return, Adam Scott Leads Severance on Apple TV+

ALSO: The Winter Olympics come to a close, Texas Chainsaw Massacre, John Oliver returns, and more.
  • Photos: Amazon, Netflix, Apple TV+, HBO.
    Photos: Amazon, Netflix, Apple TV+, HBO.

    It’s a weekend of big names on streaming as The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel and Steve Carell’s Space Force return, and Adam Scott's Ben Stiller-directed thriller Severance hits Apple TV+. Plus, the Beijing Winter Olympics end with Sunday’s closing ceremony, Last Week Tonight with John Oliver kicks off a new season, and Leatherface returns to the Texas Chainsaw Massacre universe in a new film. Here’s what’s new and noteworthy on TV this weekend:

    FRIDAY FEBRUARY 18

    The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel: Season 4 premiere. It’s the 1960s and change is in the air. Looking to hone her act, Midge (Rachel Brosnahan) finds a gig with total creative freedom, but her work soon creates a rift between her and her family and friends. Two episodes drop every Friday through March 11. Watch trailer. Streaming on Amazon Prime Video

    Space Force: Complete Season 2. Nearly two years after its debut, Steve Carell’s workplace comedy returns with a new administration, fresh interpersonal challenges, and a “creative revamp.” Beyond Carell, the Greg Daniels-created series also features John Malkovich, Ben Schwartz, Tawny Newsome, Diana Silvers, Jimmy O. Yang, and Don Lake. Watch trailer. Streaming on Netflix

    Severance: Series premiere. Ben Stiller produces and directs this drama about an extreme experiment in “work-life balance” conducted on a team of office workers whose memories have been surgically divided between their work and personal lives. Adam Scott stars, along with John Turturro, Patricia Arquette and Christopher Walken. Two episodes drop today. Watch trailer. Streaming on Apple TV+

    Texas Chainsaw Massacre: Original film. After nearly 50 years in hiding, Leatherface returns to terrorize a group of idealistic young friends who accidentally disrupt his carefully shielded world in a remote Texas town. Watch trailer. Streaming on Netflix

    Olympics Coverage:

    • Curling: Men’s Bronze Medal Game 1:30 AM ET/10:30 PM PT on USA
    • Biathlon: Men’s 15km Mass Start 2:00 PM ET/11:00 AM PT on NBC
    • Speed Skating: Men’s 1000m Race 2:00 PM ET/11:00 AM PT on NBC
    • Men’s Hockey: Semifinal 2:00 PM ET/11:00 AM PT on NBC
    • Curling: Women’s Semifinal 2:00 PM ET/11:00 AM PT on USA and 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on CNBC
    • Bobsled: Two-Woman Event 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on NBC
    • Figure Skating: Pairs Short Program 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on NBC
    • Freestyle Skiing: Men’s Halfpipe Final 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on NBC
    • Alpine Skiing: Team Event 11:35 PM ET/8:35 PM PT on NBC
    • Additional coverage streaming all day on Peacock

    Downfall: The Case Against Boeing: Original documentary. Fresh off its debut at the Sundance Film Festival, Rory Kennedy’s damning documentary about the Boeing 737 MAX crashes and the company’s subsequent effort to cover up its own negligence arrives on Netflix. Read our review | Watch trailer. Streaming on Netflix

    Lincoln’s Dilemma: Complete docuseries. Apple explores President Lincoln’s complicated journey to ending slavery in this four-part limited series narrated by Jeffrey Wright and featuring the voices of Bill Camp as Lincoln and Leslie Odom Jr. as Frederick Douglass. Watch trailer. Streaming on Apple TV+

    LOL: Last One Laughing Canada: Series premiere. Canada’s best comedic talent — including Caroline Rhea, Mae Martin, Dave Foley, and Jon Lajoie — face off in a celebrity showdown where they must make each other laugh, while not laughing themselves. The comedian who outlasts the competition wins $100,000 for the charity of their choice. Two episodes drop every Friday for three weeks. Watch trailer. Streaming on Amazon Prime Video

    Love Is Blind: New episodes. The couples head back to reality, meet their future in-laws, and embark upon their bachelor and bachelorette parties in four new Season 2 episodes. Streaming on Netflix

    The Afterparty: New episode. Zoe (Zoë Chao) recounts her version of reunion events in a partially-animated episode. Streaming on Apple TV+

    2022 NBA All-Star Celebrity Game: All-Star Weekend kicks off in Cleveland, Ohio with the Celebrity Game, coached by greats Bill Walton and Dominique Wilkins. Participants are set to include Machine Gun Kelly, Jimmie Allen, Tiffany Haddish, and Jack Harlow. 7:00 PM ET/4:00 PM PT on ESPN

    Painting with John: Season 2 premiere. Musician, actor, director, and painter John Lurie returns to HBO for more artistic ruminations. Season 2 introduces Cowboy Beckett and combines images of Lurie’s paintings, original music, and his irreverent point-of-view into a wholly unique viewing experience. Watch trailer. 11:00 PM ET on HBO

    SATURDAY FEBRUARY 19

    Olympics Coverage:

    • Figure Skating: Pairs Free Skate 6:00 AM ET/3:00 AM PT on USA
    • Curling: Women’s Bronze Medal Game 7:05 AM ET/4:05 AM PT on Peacock and 5:00 PM ET/2:00 PM PT on USA
    • Hockey: Men’s Bronze Medal Game 8:10 AM ET/5:10 AM PT on CNBC
    • Bobsled: Two-Woman Finals 9:00 AM ET/6:00 AM PT on USA
    • Curling: Men’s Gold Medal Game 1:30 PM ET/10:30 AM PT on USA
    • Biathlon: Women’s 12.5km Mass Start 2:30 PM ET/11:30 AM PT on NBC
    • Speed Skating: Men’s, Women’s Mass Start Finals 2:30 PM ET/11:30 AM PT on NBC
    • Cross-Country Skiing: Men’s 50km Race 2:30 PM ET/11:30 AM PT on NBC
    • Bobsled: Four-Man Finals 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on NBC
    • Figure Skating: Pairs Free Skate 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on NBC
    • Curling: Women’s Gold Medal Game 8:05 PM ET/5:05 PM PT on CNBC
    • Hockey: Men’s Gold Medal Game 11:10 PM ET/8:10 PM PT on USA
    • Figure Skating: Exhibition Gala Skating Showcase 11:30 PM ET/8:30 PM PT on NBC

    State Farm All-Star Saturday Night: The NBA’s biggest names face off in the Taco Bell Skills Challenge, the MTN DEW 3-Point Contest, and AT&T Slam Dunk. Coverage begins at 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on TNT

    Rich & Shameless: Pam & Tommy: The Tape That Changed America Special presentation. TNT previews its new true crime anthology with a special episode about Pamela Anderson and Tommy Lee’s sex tape. The seven-part docuseries, which airs this summer, will also explore the mysterious death of a crypto millionaire, Clare Bronfman’s involvement in the NXIVM sex cult, and the battle between Martin Shkreli and the Wu-Tang Clan. Watch trailer. 10:30 PM ET on TNT

    Celebrity Big Brother: New episode. 8:00 PM ET on CBS

    Caught in His Web: TV movie. When three girls are tormented by a mysterious cyberbully who goes by “Blake,” they enlist the help of Detective Holland (Garcelle Beauvais) to help unmask their harasser and end their nightmare. Whoopi Goldberg serves as an executive producer on the thriller, which was inspired by one of the nation’s first cases of “sextortion.” 8:00 PM ET on Lifetime

    The Wedding Veil Legacy: TV movie. Tracy (Alison Sweeney) is the last of three friends to take possession of an antique wedding veil they purchased together, but will it prove to be magical for her despite her cynicism about its legend? The Hallmark sequel also stars Autumn Reeser, Lacey Chabert, and Victoria Webster. Watch trailer. 8:00 PM ET on Hallmark Channel

    SUNDAY FEBRUARY 20

    Olympics Closing Ceremony: The 2022 Beijing Winter Olympics come to an end with the traditional closing ceremony, which will air live at 7:00 AM ET/4:00 AM PT on NBC. It will also be rebroadcast in primetime at 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on NBC

    Last Week Tonight with John Oliver: Season 9 premiere. HBO’s Emmy-winning program returns from a three-month hiatus to once again shine a light on the week’s biggest news stories and lesser-reported (but no less important) topics. Watch trailer. 11:00 PM ET on HBO

    2022 NBA All-Star Game: LeBron James and Kevin Durant each captain a team of the NBA’s best players, including Giannis Antetokounmpo, Joel Embiid, Stephen Curry, Ja Morant, and Nikola Jokic. Live from Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse in Cleveland. 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on TNT

    The Masked Singer: Sneak peek. Ahead of the March 9 premiere, FOX previews the musical competition’s upcoming seventh season with secret costume and clue reveals and new footage. 7:00 PM ET on FOX

    Celebrity Big Brother: New episode. 8:00 PM ET on CBS

    Around the World in 80 Days: Season 1 finale. A reunion, a deadly dockside encounter, and red tape cause Phileas Fogg (David Tennant) to face failure. The British drama has already been renewed for a second season, which is expected to debut early next year. 8:00 PM ET on PBS

    From: Series premiere. In a nightmarish town that traps all those who enter, a group of residents fight to keep a sense of normalcy and search for a way out. The sci-fi horror series hails from the creators of Lost and stars Harold Perrineau in the lead role. 9:00 PM ET on EPIX

    LBJ: Triumph and Tragedy: Docuseries premiere. CNN looks at Lyndon Johnson's complicated presidecy in a four-part event. Two episodes air tonight, followed by the remaining two tomorrow night. Watch trailer. 9:00 PM ET on CNN

    All Creatures Great and Small: Christmas special. James (Nicholas Ralph) and Helen (Rachel Shenton) spend their first Christmas together, but they disagree on where to spend it. Meanwhile, the vets take an ill Tricky Woo under their care, but can’t seem to nurse him back to health. Watch preview. 9:00 PM ET on PBS

    We Need to Talk About Cosby: Docuseries finale. As allegations surface against Bill Cosby, his fans and Hollywood at large debate what to do with the art we loved and the larger systemic problems Cosby’s story lays bare. 10:00 PM ET on Showtime

    Claire Spellberg Lustig is the TV Editor at Primetimer and a scholar of The View. Follow her on Twitter at @c_spellberg.

    TOPICS: The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel, Last Week Tonight with John Oliver, Severance, Space Force, Adam Scott, Winter Olympics