Type keyword(s) to search

TV TODAY

FBoy Island Puts a New Spin on the Summer Dating Show

ALSO: Olympic swimming and gymnastics, the 2021 NBA Draft, and Netflix rom-com Resort to Love.
  • Three women are tasked with separating the men from the FBoys in HBO Max's new dating series. (Photo: HBO Max)
    Three women are tasked with separating the men from the FBoys in HBO Max's new dating series. (Photo: HBO Max)

    HBO Max gets into the dating game today with FBoy Island, a new series that asks women to separate “Nice Guys” looking for love from “FBoys” competing solely for cash.

    Also today: Team USA competes in the women’s gymnastics all-around, track & field events, and swimming finals; a new generation of NBA hopefuls wait for their name to be called in the 2021 NBA Draft; and Christina Milian stars in a new Netflix romantic comedy. Here’s what’s new and noteworthy on TV this Thursday:

    FBoy Island: Series premiere. Three women looking for love travel to a tropical island where they’re joined by 24 men: 12 “Nice Guys” looking for a real connection, and 12 “FBoys” interested in winning a cash prize. Will the women be able to ID the nice guys, or will the charming cads get the best of them? With host Nikki Glaser. Read our review. Streaming on HBO Max

    2021 NBA Draft: Special presentation. Basketball’s future stars wait for their name to be called in the 2021 NBA Draft. The Detroit Pistons hold the first overall pick. 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on ABC

    Olympics Coverage:

    • Swimming: Women’s 800M Freestyle, Men’s 100M Butterfly 6:00 AM ET/3:00 AM PT on USA
    • Women’s Volleyball: USA vs Turkey 8:45 AM ET/5:45 AM PT on USA
    • Women’s Table Tennis: Singles Final 10:00 AM ET/7:00 AM PT on NBCSN
    • Rowing: Finals; BMX Racing: Quarterfinals; Water Polo; Volleyball; Women’s Whitewater Canoe: Slalom Finals; Swimming 12:00 PM ET/9:00 AM PT on NBC
    • Women’s Gymnastics: Individual All-Around; Swimming: Women’s 200M Breaststroke, Men’s 200M Backstroke, Women’s 100M Freestyle Finals; Track & Field: Morning Session 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on NBC
    • Track & Field: Men’s 400M Hurdles, Women’s 800M, Men’s Steeplechase, Women’s 100M 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on USA
    • Men’s, Women’s BMX Racing: Finals 10:00 PM ET/7:00 PM PT on CNBC
    • Men’s Volleyball: USA vs Brazil 10:55 PM ET/7:55 PM PT on CNBC
    • Men’s Tennis: Doubles Gold Medal Match 11:00 PM ET/8:00 PM PT on Olympic Channel
    • Additional coverage streaming all day on Peacock

    Resort to Love: Original movie. One year after a breakup, an aspiring singer (Christina Milian) books a gig at a Mauritian resort, but when she learns that she’ll be singing at her ex-fiancé’s (Jay Pharaoh) wedding, her paradise-inspired mindset quickly fades. The Netflix rom-com is produced by Alicia Keys and directed by Steven Tsuchida (Cobra Kai, Younger). Watch trailer. Streaming on Netflix

    Behind the Music: Series premiere. Nearly a decade after it last aired, Paramount+ revives the groundbreaking music docuseries. The first two episodes, streaming today, feature Ricky Martin and LL Cool J, while subsequent installments are set to profile New Kids on the Block, Bret Michaels, and Busta Rhymes. Watch trailer. Streaming on Paramount+

    The Prince: Complete first season. Prince George is the central character in this twelve-episode animated satire looking at life in and around Buckingham Palace. Alan Cumming, Orlando Blooom, Sophie Turner and Dan Stevens are among those voicing the royals and their staff. Watch trailer. Streaming on HBO Max

    Big Brother: Neither Brent nor Britini could secure the Veto last night, which means one of them will go home on tonight's live episode. With the Royal Flush alliance solidly in power, the winner of tonight's new Head of Household competition will make a huge difference in the direction of the rest of this season. 8:00 PM ET on CBS

    Jellystone!: Complete first season. Yogi Bear, Boo Boo, Cindy, and other iconic Hanna-Barbera characters descend upon the magical land of Jellystone, where they live, work, and play in increasingly silly ways. Watch trailer. Streaming on HBO Max

    Why Women Kill: Season finale. A lifetime’s worth of secrets are revealed as Paramount+ wraps the anthology’s 1949-set second season. Streaming on Paramount+

    Love Island: New episode. 9:00 PM ET on CBS

    Dr. Death: The Undoctored Story: Series premiere. A companion piece to Peacock's scriped Dr. Death, this four-part docuseries looks at the real-life case of Dr Christopher Duntsch. Featuring interviews with the real-life Dr. Robert Henderson, Dr. Randall Kirby and Michelle Shughart. Watch trailer. Streaming on Peacock.

    Claire Spellberg Lustig is the TV Editor at Primetimer and a scholar of The View. Follow her on Twitter at @c_spellberg.

    TOPICS: FBoy Island, HBO Max, Nikki Glaser