Type keyword(s) to search

TV TODAY

Olympic Swimmer Katie Ledecky Goes for the Gold in Freestyle Events

ALSO: NBC will air the women's team gymnastics final, which streamed live this morning.
  • Katie Ledecky wears her five gold medals from previous Olympics. (Photo: NBC Olympics)
    Katie Ledecky wears her five gold medals from previous Olympics. (Photo: NBC Olympics)

    Katie Ledecky will compete in two of her biggest events today, the 200 meter freestyle and the 1500 meter freestyle, and NBC will re-air the women's gymnastics team final, which saw Simone Biles exit the competition due to a medical issue. Other Olympics action includes a men’s beach volleyball game between the U.S. and Switzerland, an early morning USWNT group-stage matchup, and women’s synchronized diving. Here’s what’s new and noteworthy on TV this Tuesday:

    Olympics Coverage:

    • Women’s Soccer: USA vs Australia 4:00 AM ET/1:00 AM PT on USA
    • Swimming: Men’s 100M Freestyle, Women’s 200M Butterfly 6:00 AM ET/3:00 AM PT on USA
    • Softball: Gold Medal Game 7:00 AM ET/4:00 AM PT on NBCSN
    • Beach Volleyball; Women’s Cross Country: Mountain Bike; Women’s Synchronized Diving, Swimming 12:00 PM ET/9:00 AM ET on NBC
    • Women’s Gymnastics Team Final; Swimming: Women’s 200M Freestyle, Men’s 200M Butterfly, Women’s 200M Individual Medley, Women’s 1500M Freestyle, Men’s 4x200M Freestyle 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on NBC
    • Men’s Beach Volleyball: USA vs Switzerland 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on USA
    • Table Tennis: Women’s Singles, Quarterfinals 9:00 PM ET/6:00 PM PT on USA
    • Men’s Volleyball: USA vs Tunisia 10:00 PM ET/7:00 PM PT on USA
    • Men’s, Women’s, and Mixed Tennis: Singles/Doubles Quarterfinals and Semis 10:00 PM ET/7:00 PM PT on Olympic Channel
    • Additional coverage streaming all day on Peacock

    The Haves and the Have Nots: Final Cast Reunion Special presentation. The cast of OWN’s primetime soap discusses their dramatic final season and the show’s legacy in the first half of the two-part reunion. 8:00 PM ET on OWN

    Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel: A look at the growing number of former NBA players who'ev jumped into the billion-dollar cannabis industry. Also: the story of a 10 year-old chess prodigy who fled Nigeria in 2017 after being targeted by Boko Haram. 10:00 PM ET on HBO

    Citizen P.I.: Series premiere. Discovery+ probes the world of amateur sleuths in this docuseries about citizen detectives who have played major roles in cracking cold cases. Three episodes drop today, followed by one new episode each week through August 17. Streaming on Discovery+

    How to Sell Drugs Online (Fast): Complete third season. Netflix’s German-language hit returns with a new batch of episodes that find Moritz, now one of Europe’s biggest drug dealers, (Maximilian Mundt) in way over his head. Watch trailer. Streaming on Netflix

    America’s Top Dog: A frisbee-catching pro takes on a demonstration dog, a female K-9 competes against the tallest dog of the season, and an engaged couple pits their sibling terriers against one another in a new episode. 8:00 PM ET on A&E

    Love Island: New episode. 9:00 PM ET on CBS

    True Life Crime: With the 2015 disappearance and murder of single mother Heather Bogle still unsolved, MTV shines a light on the cold case and investigates whether law enforcement corruption could be at play. 9:00 PM ET on MTV

    Claire Spellberg Lustig is the TV Editor at Primetimer and a scholar of The View. Follow her on Twitter at @c_spellberg.

    TOPICS: Katie Ledecky, Simone Biles, Summer Olympics