Type keyword(s) to search

TV This Weekend

The Tokyo Olympics Begin, Ted Lasso Returns, and Tig Notaro Gets Drawn

PLUS: Kevin Smith resurrects He-Man, HBO revisits Woodstock 99, Good Witch bids farewell, and more.
  • (Photos: NBC, Apple TV+, HBO, Netflix, Hallmark, HBO)
    (Photos: NBC, Apple TV+, HBO, Netflix, Hallmark, HBO)

    Let the games begin: The 2020 Tokyo Olympics kick off Friday with an Opening Ceremony that will unite athletes from across the globe in Tokyo’s Olympic Stadium. After the torch is lit, fans won’t have to wait long to see Team USA in action: NBC is broadcasting dozens of major events throughout the weekend, including swimming relays, women’s gymnastics, and basketball preliminaries.

    This weekend also brings the much anticipated premiere ofTed Lasso Season 2, Netflix romance The Last Letter From Your Lover, HBO doc Woodstock 99: Peace, Love, and Rage, a fully animated comedy special from Tig Notaro, and more. Here’s what’s new and noteworthy on TV this weekend:

    FRIDAY JULY 23

    Olympics Opening Ceremony: NBC is saying good day to the tape delay as it offers its first-ever live morning broadcast of an Olympic Opening Ceremony. Early risers can catch the ceremony as it happens at 6:55 AM ET/3:55 AM PT. It will also be rebroadcast in primetime, at 7:30 PM ET/4:30 PM PT on NBC

    Ted Lasso: Season premiere. After being relegated down from the Premier League, Coach Ted Lasso (Jason Sudeikis) encourages his AFC Richmond players to chin up, but a string of ties only deepens their frustration. The entire Emmy-nominated cast returns for Season 2, which also introduces a sports psychologist (Sarah Niles) who helps the players through the team’s transition. Read our review. Streaming on Apple TV+

    The Last Letter From Your Lover: Original movie. When a young journalist in London (Felicity Jones) uncovers a series of letters about an intense, star-crossed affair in the 1960s, she becomes obsessed with discovering the lovers’ identities and finding out how their story ends. Shailene Woodley, Callum Turner, Joe Alwyn, and Ncuti Gatwa also star. Watch trailer. Streaming on Netflix

    The Movies That Made Us: Complete second season. Netflix’s cinematic retrospective returns with four new episodes that examine the legacies of Jurassic Park, Back to the Future, Pretty Woman, and Forrest Gump. Watch trailer. Streaming on Netflix

    Jolt: Original movie. Kate Beckinsale stars as a rage-addicted woman who uses an electrode-lined vest to manage her extreme anger. But when her new love interest is murdered, she leaves restraint at the door and sets out for revenge. Stanley Tucci, Bobby Cannavale, and Laverne Cox also star. Watch trailer. Streaming on Amazon Prime Video

    Woodstock 99: Peace, Love, and Rage: HBO marks the 22nd anniversary of the Woodstock ‘99 Festival with this original film about the three-day event that devolved into riots, looting, and sexual assaults, earning it the infamous distinction of “the day the nineties died.” Watch trailer. 9:00 PM ET on HBO

    Masters of the Universe: Revelation: Complete Part 1. In this sequel to the beloved 1980s He-Man series from Kevin Smith, Teela (voiced by Sarah Michelle Gellar) and the guardians of Castle Grayskull must find the missing Sword of Power in order to prevent the end of the universe. Watch trailer. Streaming on Netflix

    Charmed: Season finale. With the news earlier this week that Madeleine Mantock won't return next season, tonight's Season 3 finales doubles as her farewell. When an encounter with the Whispering Evil leaves Macy (Mantock) on the brink of death, Mel (Melonie Diaz) and Maggie (Sarah Jeffrey) cast an ancient spell in hopes of saving her. Watch preview. 8:00 PM ET on The CW

    Love Island: New episode. 9:00 PM ET on CBS

    SATURDAY JULY 24

    Olympics Coverage:

    • Swimming: Session 1 6:00 AM ET/3:00 AM PT on USA
    • Women’s Soccer: USA vs New Zealand 7:30 AM ET/4:30 AM PT on NBCSN
    • Men’s Volleyball: USA vs France; Swimming; Cycling: Men's Road Race; 3x3 Men’s Basketball; Rowing 9:00 AM ET/6:00 AM PT on NBC
    • Beach Volleyball; Men’s Team Gymnastics; Swimming: Men’s and Women’s 400M Individual Medley 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on NBC
    • Softball: USA vs Australia 9:00 PM ET/6:00 PM PT on CNBC
    • Tennis: Day 2, Round 1 Singles/Doubles 10:00 PM ET/7:00 PM PT on Olympic Channel
    • Skateboarding: Men’s Street Final 11:25 PM ET/8:25 PM PT on USA
    • Additional coverage streaming all day on Peacock

    Tig Notaro: Drawn: Special presentation. Actor and comedian Tig Notaro stars in a fully animated stand-up special. Watch trailer. 10:00 PM ET on HBO

    Eden: Untamed Planet: Series premiere. Helena Bonham Carter narrates this natural history series about Earth’s remaining untouched lands, including Borneo, the Galapagos, and Patagonia. Episodes will be simulcast weekly on both BBC America and AMC. Watch trailer. 8:00 PM ET on BBC America and AMC

    Freaky: Premium cable premiere. Vince Vaughn and Kathryn Newton star in this 2020 horror comedy about a serial killer and a quiet teenage girl who accidentally swap bodies and discover that they have just 24 hours to return to their original form before the switch becomes permanent. Watch trailer. 8:15 PM ET on HBO

    Next Door Nightmare: TV movie. When a young couple move next door to a charismatic older woman, they have no idea she’s a deeply disturbed psychopath who will stop at nothing to become the grandmother to their soon-to-be-born child. 8:00 PM ET on Lifetime

    Snapped Notorious: The Cleveland Strangler: Special presentation. Oxygen probes the 2009 case of five women who were trapped in the home of a serial killer and subjected to horrific abuse in a two-hour special. 9:00 PM ET on Oxygen

    SUNDAY JULY 25

    Olympics Coverage:

    • Swimming: Session 3 6:00 AM ET/3:00 AM PT on USA
    • Men’s Basketball: USA vs France; Cycling: Women’s Road Race; Water Polo; Swimming; Rowing 8:00 AM ET/5:00 AM PT on NBC
    • Archery: Team Event, Women’s Final 8:30 AM ET/5:30 AM PT
    • Judo, Taekwondo, Boxing, Weightlifting: Finals 3:00 PM ET/12:00 PM PT on USA
    • Men’s Triathlon; Women’s Team Gymnastics; Swimming: 100M Butterfly, 100M Breaststroke, 400M Freestyle, 4x100M Freestyle Finals 7:00 PM ET/4:00 PM PT on NBC
    • Beach Volleyball: USA vs Latvia 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on USA
    • Softball: USA vs Japan 9:00 PM ET/6:00 PM PT on USA
    • Additional coverage streaming all day on Peacock

    The End: As the holiday season begins, Edie (Harriet Walter) ignites the passions of a married man, and Kate (Frances O’Connor) crosses a line. 8:00 PM ET on Showtime

    Big Brother: Xavier is the new Head of Household, but which houseguests will he target for the next nominations? We're also going to get the next Wildcard competition, which, if it's anything like last week's paint-splatter affair, should be fun to watch. 8:00 PM ET on CBS

    Power Book III: Raising Kanan: After a rival crewmember is killed, Raq (Patina Miller) does whatever is necessary to get the target off Kanan’s (Mekai Curtis) back. Watch preview. 8:00 PM ET on Starz

    The Good Witch: Series finale. After seven seasons and a decade of original movies, Hallmark’s beloved drama ends its run with a wedding and one final test for the Mrriwick witches. Watch preview. 9:00 PM ET on Hallmark Channel

    Love Island: New episode. 9:00 PM ET on CBS

    Kevin Can F**k Himself: Allison (Annie Murphy) and Patty (Mary Hollis Inboden) prepare for the big night, but Nick’s (Robin Lord Taylor) shifting timeline threatens to complicate things. Watch preview. 9:00 PM ET on AMC

    The Deceived: When his father becomes ill, Michael (Emmett J Scanlan) returns to Cambridge, where he learns that his dad has been hosting a mysterious visitor. 9:30 PM ET on Starz

    Claire Spellberg Lustig is the TV Editor at Primetimer and a scholar of The View. Follow her on Twitter at @c_spellberg.

    TOPICS: Summer Olympics, NBC, Ted Lasso, Jason Sudeikis, Katie Ledecky, Simone Biles