Type keyword(s) to search

TV This Weekend

Outer Banks, Jungle Cruise, and Olympics Coverage Headline Weekend TV

ALSO: Demi Lovato launches a new talk show, 30 Rock returns to Netflix, and more.
  • (Photos: Netflix, Amazon, Disney, NBC, Roku)
    (Photos: Netflix, Amazon, Disney, NBC, Roku)

    Settle in for a busy weekend of television with a second season of the Netflix hit Outer Banks, theme park-inspired adventure flick Jungle Cruise, and Olympic swimming, track and field, and individual gymnastics. Plus, 30 Rock sails back onto Netflix after a few years away, Annie Murphy’s fate is revealed in the Kevin Can F**k Himself finale, and The Demi Lovato Show finds a home on Roku. Here’s what’s new and noteworthy on TV this weekend:

    FRIDAY JULY 30

    Olympics Coverage:

    • Women’s Soccer: Three Quarterfinal matches begin at 4:00 AM ET/1:00 AM PT on NBCSN
    • Swimming: Men’s 50M and 1500M Freestyle 6:00 AM ET/3:00 AM PT on USA
    • Men’s Table Tennis: Singles Final 8:45 AM ET/5:45 AM PT on USA
    • Men’s Beach Volleyball: USA vs Qatar 9:00 AM ET/6:00 AM PT on NBCSN
    • Rowing: Finals; BMX Racing; Women’s Trampoline; Women’s Beach Volleyball; Swimming 12:00 PM ET/9:00 AM PT on NBC
    • Triathlon: Mixed Team Relay 6:30 PM ET/3:30 PM PT on USA
    • Track & Field; Beach Volleyball; Swimming: Men’s 100M Butterfly, Women’s 200M Backstroke Finals 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on NBC
    • Track & Field: Women’s 100M and 400M Hurdles, Men’s Pole Vault, Women’s Discus 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on USA
    • Women’s Volleyball: USA vs Russia 10:10 PM ET/7:10 PM PT on CNBC
    • Tennis: Women’s Singles Final, Men’s and Women’s Singles Bronze Medal Match 11:00 PM ET/8:00 PM PT on Olympic Channel
    • Additional coverage streaming all day on Peacock

    Outer Banks: Complete second season. After their near-death escape, John B (Chase Stokes) and Sarah Cameron (Madelyn Cline) find themselves on the run in the Bahamas, while their friends at home continue to search for the $400 million treasure. Watch trailer. Streaming on Netflix

    Jungle Cruise: Original movie. An intrepid researcher (Emily Blunt) recruits a wisecracking skipper (Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson) to help her find an ancient tree with healing abilities, but they soon encounter innumerable dangers and supernatural forces in the lush Amazonian rainforest. The adventure movie, based on the Disneyland theme park ride of the same name debuts in theaters today and is available to Disney+ subscribers for $30 via the service’s Premier Access add-on. Watch trailer. Streaming on Disney+

    The Demi Lovato Show: Complete first season. Singer Demi Lovato sits down with Olivia Munn, Lucy Hale, Jameela Jamil, and other celebrity guests. The ten-minute talk show was originally ordered by Quibi, but moved to Roku after the short-form streaming platform’s implosion. Watch trailer. Streaming on The Roku Channel

    The Pursuit of Love: Complete limited series. Emily Mortimer brings the story of two cousins (Lily James and Emily Beecham) living in interwar Europe to the screen in this three-part romantic dramedy. Read our review. Streaming on Amazon Prime Video

    Watch the Sound with Mark Ronson: Complete first season. DJ and producer Mark Ronson takes viewers inside the technical world of song creation in this six-episode docuseries. Each episode features conversations with some of music’s biggest names, including Dave Grohl, Paul McCartney, and Questlove. Watch trailer. Streaming on Apple TV+

    High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: Season finale. The Wildcats head to Salt Lake, where Gina (Sofia Wylie) speaks her truth and Nini (Olivia Rodrigo) makes a life-changing decision. Watch preview. Streaming on Disney+

    Myth & Mogul: John DeLorean: Complete first season. Netflix explores John DeLorean’s transition from engineer to executive to automotive world icon in a new docuseries about the darkness and deceit just underneath the surface of the mogul’s persona. Watch trailer. Streaming on Netflix

    The Shop: Uninterrupted: Jemele Hill, DJ Khaled, Meek Mill, NBA All Star Trae Young and NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year Chase Young stop by the shop for a wide-ranging conversation with host Maverick Carter. Watch preview. 9:00 PM ET on HBO

    Back on the Record with Bob Costas: Series premiere. Legendary broadcaster Bob Costas returns to HBO alongside ESPN’s Bomani Jones for this updated version of On the Record, which is set to air four times a year. Watch trailer. 11:00 PM ET on HBO

    SATURDAY JULY 31

    Olympics Coverage:

    • Men’s Soccer: Three Quarterfinal matches begin at 4:00 AM ET/1:00 AM PT on NBCSN and USA
    • Baseball: USA vs Korea 6:00 AM ET/3:00 AM PT on NBCSN
    • Volleyball; Men’s Basketball; Women’s Tennis: Final; Men’s Archery: Individual Final 8:00 AM ET/5:00 AM PT on NBC
    • Men’s Basketball; Triathlon: Mixed Relay; Men’s Trampoline: Final; Women’s Tennis: Singles Final 12:30 PM ET/9:30 AM PT on NBC
    • Men’s Soccer: Quarterfinals continue at 5:00 PM ET/2:00 PM PT on USA and NBCSN
    • Beach Volleyball; Swimming’ Cycling; Men’s Basketball 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on NBC
    • Track & Field: Women’s Shot Put Final; Women’s Steeplechase, Long Jump, Hammer; Men’s 400M 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on USA
    • Men’s, Women’s BMX Freestyle: Finals 9:10 PM ET/6:10 PM PT on CNBC
    • Tennis: Men’s Singles, Women’s Doubles, Mixed Doubles Gold Medal Matches 11:00 PM ET/8:00 PM PT on Olympic Channel
    • Additional coverage streaming all day on Peacock

    Tom & Jerry: Premium cable premiere. Hanna-Barbera’s irascible cat and mouse duo renew their rivalry in this 2021 feature film that sees Jerry moves into a New York City hotel, forcing a wedding planner to hire Tom to get rid of him. Starring Chloe Grace Moretz, Colin Jost, Rob Delaney, Ken Jeong, and Michael Pena. Watch trailer. 8:00 PM ET on HBO

    You’re Not Safe Here: TV movie. When a pregnant woman goes on the run from her violent boyfriend, an affluent childless couple takes her in, but she quickly suspects that the couple is after her baby. 8:00 PM ET on Lifetime

    Premier Boxing Champions Special: Unbeaten heavyweight Michael Coffie squares off against former world title challenger Gerald “El Gallo Negro” Washington in FOX’s 12-round main event. 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on FOX

    Love, For Real: TV movie. Hallmark kicks off a second wave of “Summer Nights” with this romance about two friends (Chloe Bridges and Taiana Tully) who go on a dating show to advance their careers, but end up finding a match. Watch trailer. 9:00 PM ET on Hallmark Channel

    Puppy Bowl Presents: The Summer Dog Games: Special presentation. Five trainer/dog teams face off in a series of challenges to see who will win the ultimate prize of a $5,000 donation to charity. Streaming on Discovery+

    SUNDAY AUGUST 1

    Olympics Coverage:

    • Beach Volleyball: Round of 16 6:15 AM ET/3:15 AM PT on USA
    • Men’s Volleyball: USA vs Argentina; BMX Freestyle: Gold Medal Run; Tennis: Final; Men’s Gymnastics: Floor and Pommel Horse; Fencing Final 8:30 AM ET/5:30 AM PT on NBC
    • Women’s Badminton: Singles Gold Medal Game 8:40 AM ET/5:40 AM PT on NBCSN
    • Wrestling; Boxing: Semifinal, Quarterfinal Bouts 3:15 PM ET/12:15 PM PT on USA
    • Women’s Diving: Springboard Final; Beach Volleyball; Women’s Gymnastics: Vault, Uneven Bars Final; Track & Field: Men’s Long Jump, Women’s 100M Hurdles Finals 7:00 PM ET/4:00 PM PT on NBC
    • Track & Field: Women’s 200M and 1500M 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on USA
    • Men’s Water Polo: USA vs Greece 10:30 PM ET/7:30 PM PT on USA
    • Additional coverage streaming all day on Peacock

    30 Rock: Complete series. All seven seasons of Tina Fey’s acclaimed comedy return to Netflix after years away from the streamer. The comedy series, which also stars Alec Baldwin, Jane Krakowski, and Tracy Morgan, will also continue to stream on Hulu and Peacock. Streaming on Netflix

    Kevin Can F**k Himself: Season finale. Following the break-in, detectives question Allison (Annie Murphy), but she and Patty (Mary Hollis Inboden) can’t avoid the repercussions of their actions for long. Watch preview. 9:00 PM ET on AMC

    Major League Baseball: The Tampa Bay Rays host the Boston Red Sox in an exciting Sunday night matchup. 7:00 PM ET/4:00 PM PT on ESPN

    Swim: Original movie. Free streamer Tubi kicks off its Shark Month event with its first original movie, about a family trapped in their storm-flooded vacation rental with a hungry shark. Starring Joey Lawrence, Jennifer Feld, Andy Lauer, and Rib Hillis. Streaming on Tubi

    Big Brother: With Christian and his ever-changing hairstyles winning the Head of Household competition on Thursday, it means a second straight week that the Kings alliance is in power. Without an overwhelming house target like Brent was last week, this could be when the house starts splintering away from its big alliances. We'll know more when Christian makes his nominations, but only after the next Wildcard competition. 8:00 PM ET on CBS

    Waking Up to Danger: TV movie. A young mother attempts to pick up the pieces after a horrible accident damages her memory, but she soon begins to suspect that her husband’s indiscretions have put her family in grave danger. 8:00 PM ET on Lifetime

    The Chi: Season finale. Watch preview. 9:00 PM ET on Showtime

    Wipeout: The Suicide Squad Special Ahead of The Suicide Squad premiere on August 6, John Cena, Nathan Fillion, Joel Kinnaman, David Dastmalchian, and Daniela Melchior encourage teams competing for the $25,000 grand prize in a special Warner Bros. crossover event. Watch preview. 9:00 PM ET on TBS

    War of the Worlds: Season finale. The survivors prepare for a final attack on the aliens that could change the entire course of recent history in the Season 2 finale of Epix’s sci-fi drama. 9:00 PM ET on EPIX

    Love Island: New episode. 9:00 PM ET on CBS

    Claire Spellberg Lustig is the TV Editor at Primetimer and a scholar of The View. Follow her on Twitter at @c_spellberg.

    TOPICS: Outer Banks, The Demi Lovato Show, Summer Olympics