Type keyword(s) to search

TV TODAY

HBO Max Drops British Thriller The Girl Before, Zoe Kravitz Headlines Kimi

ALSO: The NFL Honors, Steph and Ayesha Curry host About Last Night, and Real Husbands of Hollywood.
  • Photos: HBO Max
    Photos: HBO Max

    HBO Max wins the day with a trio of major releases, including David Oyelowo's The Girl Before, Steven Soderbergh’s Kimi, and Steph and Ayesha Curry’s new game show, About Last Night. Also today: The Winter Games continue on NBC and Peacock, BET+ revives Real Husbands of Hollywood, the NFL’s best gather for the NFL Honors. Here’s what’s new and noteworthy on TV this Thursday:

    The Girl Before: Complete limited series. When Jane (Gugu Mbatha-Raw) moves into a beautiful house designed by an enigmatic architect (David Oyelowo), she’s surprised to learn she must abide by his list of exacting rules. As the house begins to change Jane in unexpected ways, she makes a shocking discovery about her predecessor (Jessica Plummer), and the two women’s timelines begin to interweave. Watch trailer. Streaming on HBO Max

    Kimi: Original film. Steven Soderbergh’s partnership with HBO Max continues with this thriller about an agoraphobic tech worker (Zoë Kravitz) who must face her greatest fear when she discovers evidence of a violent crime while reviewing a data stream. The COVID-set drama also stars Rita Wilson, India de Beaufort, and Emily Kuroda. Watch trailer. Streaming on HBO Max

    About Last Night: Series premiere. Steph and Ayesha Curry invite three celebrity couples to go head-to-head in relationship trivia and other games to see who knows their partner best. In the final round, the couples take on the Currys for a chance to win money for charity. Watch trailer. Streaming on HBO Max

    Real Husbands of Hollywood: More Kevin, More Problems: Series premiere. Kevin Hart, Nick Cannon, and Boris Kodjoe return to the small screen for a six-episode revival of BET’s reality parody. Original cast members Duane Martin, J.B. Smoove, Nelly, and Robin Thicke are also back, joined by newcomers Michele Weaver and Angela Rye. Watch trailer. Streaming on BET+

    2022 NFL Honors: Special presentation. Keegan-Michael Key hosts the NFL’s annual pre-Super Bowl event, which will welcome a new Pro Football Hall of Fame class and honor the season’s best players. 9:00 PM ET on ABC

    Just Call Out My Name: Original documentary. Director Frank Marshall (The Bee Gees: How Can You Mend a Broken Heart) explores Carole King and James Taylor’s decades-long friendship and musical partnership in this feature-length documentary. The film arrives on HBO Max a month after it debuted on CNN. Streaming on HBO Max

    Olympics Coverage:

    • Speed Skating: Women’s 5000m 7:00 AM ET/4:00 AM PT on Peacock
    • Men’s Hockey: USA vs. China 8:10 AM ET/5:10 AM PT on USA
    • Luge: Team Relay 2:00 PM ET/11:00 AM PT on NBC
    • Snowboarding: Mens’ Cross Final 2:00 PM ET/11:00 AM PT on NBC
    • Cross-Country Skiing: Women’s 10km 2:00 PM ET/11:00 AM PT on NBC
    • Freestyle Skiing: Mixed Team Aerials Final 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on NBC
    • Snowboarding: Men’s Halfpipe Final 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on NBC
    • Alpine Skiing: Women’s Super G 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on NBC
    • Women’s Hockey: Quarterfinal 11:10 PM ET/8:10 PM PT on NBC and USA

    Star Trek: Discovery: Season 4 winter premiere. Paramount+’s flagship Star Trek series returns from midseason hiatus. Streaming on Paramount+

    Joe Millionaire: For Richer or Poorer: New episode. Kurt and Steven compete in a relay race that leaves the ladies wondering who their million-dollar man is. 8:00 PM ET on FOX

    Jeopardy! National College Championship: New episode. The competition heats up in the third quarterfinal match. 8:00 PM ET on ABC

    Single Drunk Female: New episode. Sam (Sofia Black-D’Elia) embarks upon her first hookup as a sober person with the help of Felicia (Lily Mae Harrington), who has big plans to jump-start Sam’s dating life. Meanwhile, Carol (Ally Sheedy) “accidentally” plants a small seed of doubt in Brit’s (Sasha Compère) mind about Joel (Charlie Hall). Watch preview. 10:30 PM ET on Freeform

    NBA Basketball: TNT offers two different games tonight:

    • Miami Heat at New Orleans Pelicans 7:30 PM ET/4:30 PM PT
    • Milwaukee Bucks at Phoenix Suns 10:00 PM ET/7:00 PM PT

    Claire Spellberg Lustig is the TV Editor at Primetimer and a scholar of The View. Follow her on Twitter at @c_spellberg.

    TOPICS: The Girl Before, HBO Max, About Last Night, NFL Honors, Real Husbands of Hollywood, Zoë Kravitz