Type keyword(s) to search

TV This Weekend

Tick, Tick... Boom!, Wheel of Time, and Cowboy Bebop Headline a Busy Weekend

ALSO: King Richard, The Great, Blown Away: Christmas, The Morning Show wraps Season 2, and more.
  • Photos: Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, Apple TV+.
    Photos: Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, Apple TV+.

    Streaming is the place to be this weekend, as Lin-Manuel Miranda brings musical Tick, Tick… Boom! to Netflix, Amazon appeals to fantasy lovers with The Wheel of Time, and John Cho kicks off a new era of Cowboy Bebop in Netflix’s live-action series.

    Plus, The Morning Show ends its bumpy second season, Will Smith dramatizes the Williams family in King Richard, and Elle Fanning assumes the throne in The Great Season 2. Here’s what’s new and noteworthy on TV this weekend:

    FRIDAY NOVEMBER 19

    Tick, Tick… Boom!: Original film. Lin-Manuel Miranda makes his feature directorial debut with this adaptation of Jonathan Larson’s autobiographical pre-Rent musical. Andrew Garfield is already earning Oscar buzz for his performance as a young theater composer navigating love, friendship, and the pressures of life as an artist in 1990 New York City. Watch trailer. Streaming on Netflix

    The Wheel of Time: Series premiere. In a sprawling fantasy world where only certain women are able to access their magical powers, Moiraine (Rosamund Pike), a member of a powerful all-female organization called the Aes Sedai, embarks on a dangerous journey to save humanity. Three episodes of Amazon's new epic series drop today. Watch trailer. Streaming on Amazon Prime Video

    Cowboy Bebop: Complete first season. Netflix puts a modern spin on the beloved anime series in this live-action space Western about three bounty hunters trying to outrun the past. John Cho headlines as Spike Spiegel, with Mustafa Shakir (Jet Black) and Daniella Pineda (Faye Valentine) rounding out the trio. Watch trailer. Streaming on Netflix

    The Morning Show: Season finale. The TMS crew struggles to keep the show on the air when Alex (Jennifer Aniston) tests positive for COVID-19. Meanwhile, Bradley (Reese Witherspoon) deals with her brother, and Cory (Billy Crudup) bares his soul. Streaming on Apple TV+

    King Richard: Original film. Will Smith charts the journey of Richard Williams, Serena and Venus Williams’ father and coach, in Warner Bros.’ retelling of the tennis stars’ early years. Premieres day and date on HBO Max and in theaters. Watch trailer. Streaming on HBO Max

    The Great: Complete second season. Following her successful coup, a pregnant Catherine (Elle Fanning) finally takes the Russian throne, but she learns that liberating an unwilling country will require more effort than she imagined. Gillian Anderson guests as Catherine’s mother Joanna. Watch trailer. Streaming on Hulu

    Harriet the Spy: Complete first part. Beanie Feldstein’s big year continues with this animated series about the exploits of iconic spy Harriet M. Welsch. Feldstein voices the 11-year-old know-it-all, while Jane Lynch plays her no-nonsense nanny Ole Golly. Additional voice actors include Lacey Chabert, Kimberly Brooks, and Crispin Freeman. Watch trailer. Streaming on Apple TV+

    Blown Away: Christmas: Complete season. Five returning artists compete in a series of Christmas-themed challenges, but only one will win the grand prize of $10,000 cash and a $10,000 donation to charity. Watch trailer. Streaming on Netflix

    The Line: Complete docuseries. Apple TV+ examines the 2018 case in which a U.S. Navy SEAL platoon accused its chief, Eddie Gallagher, of war crimes in this four-part docuseries. Featuring interviews with Gallagher, members of SEAL Team 7 who came forward with the allegation, and former Secretary of the Navy Richard Spencer. Watch trailer. Streaming on Apple TV+

    A House on the Bayou: Original film. EPIX’s Blumhouse Film Series kicks off with this horror thriller about a young couple (Angela Sarafyan and Paul Schneider) whose idyllic weekend getaway in rural Louisiana takes a sinister turn. Watch trailer. 8:00 PM ET on EPIX

    Malfunction: The Dressing Down of Janet Jackson: Original documentary. Following the success of Framing Britney Spears, The New York Times Presents reflects on another pop culture figure in this documentary about the 2004 Super Bowl halftime show and the 9/16ths of a second that forever altered Janet Jackson’s career. Watch trailer. 10:00 PM ET on FX

    SATURDAY NOVEMBER 20

    Saturday Night Live: Simu Liu (Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings) makes his hosting debut alongside musical guest Saweetie, another SNL first-timer. 11:29 PM ET/8:29 PM PT on NBC

    New World: Series premiere. Six Korean celebrities compete in challenging missions that put their friendships to the test in Netflix’s new reality series. In Korean with English subtitles. Watch trailer. Streaming on Netflix

    College Football: With just a few weeks left in the regular season, leaving the field with a win is more important than ever:

    • Michigan at Ohio State 12:00 PM ET/9:00 AM PT on ABC
    • Wake Forest at Clemson 12:00 PM ET/9:00 AM PT on ESPN
    • Iowa State at Oklahoma 12:00 PM ET/9:00 AM PT on FOX
    • Georgia Tech at Notre Dame 2:30 PM ET/11:30 AM PT on NBC
    • Nebraska at Wisconsin 3:30 PM ET/12:30 PM PT on ABC
    • SMU at Cincinnati 3:30 PM ET/12:30 PM PT on ESPN
    • Arkansas at Alabama 3:30 PM ET/12:30 PM PT on CBS
    • UCLA at USC 4:00 PM ET/1:00 PM PT on FOX
    • Auburn at South Carolina 7:00 PM ET/4:00 PM PT on ESPN
    • Oregon at Utah 7:30 PM ET/4:30 PM PT on ABC
    • Oklahoma State at Texas Tech 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on FOX
    • Arizona State at Oregon State 10:30 PM ET/7:30 PM PT on ESPN

    You Make It Feel Like Christmas: TV movie. When a talented designer (Mary Antonini) finds herself too busy to celebrate the holidays with her family, her ex-boyfriend and childhood best friend (Michael Xavier) makes it his mission to bring her home to celebrate their Christmas traditions. 8:00 PM ET on Lifetime

    A Christmas Together With You: TV movie. During the holiday season, Megan and her father-figure Frank embark on a road trip to find his long-lost love, but along the way, Megan finds a love of her own. Harry Lennix, Laura Vandervoort, and Niall Matter star. Watch trailer. 8:00 PM ET on Hallmark Channel

    2021 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony: Special presentation. Tina Turner, Carole King, Jay-Z, Foo Fighters, The Go-Go’s, and Todd Rundgren are inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in HBO’s three-hour special, taped October 30. Featuring performances from Taylor Swift, Christina Aguilera, and H.E.R. Watch trailer. 8:00 PM ET on HBO

    SUNDAY NOVEMBER 21

    A Charlie Brown Thanksgiving: The classic 1973 holiday special airs for the second year straight on PBS stations, courtesy of Apple TV+ (where it can be streamed throughout the holiday season). Watch preview7:30 PM ET on PBS 

    Power Book II: Ghost: Season premiere. In Season 2, Tariq’s (Michael Rainey Jr.) journey with the Tejada family gets even more complicated (and more dangerous), as he begins to understand the man he will become. Watch trailer. 8:00 PM ET on Starz

    2021 American Music Awards: Award show. Cardi B hosts the AMAs live from the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles. The star-studded affair will see performances from music’s biggest names, including Bad Bunny, BTS, New Kids on the Block and New Edition (for a dueling “Battle of Boston” performance), Olivia Rodrigo, Carrie Underwood, and Jason Aldean. 8:00 PM ET on ABC

    Call the Midwife: Special Delivery Special presentation. In celebration of Call the Midwife’s 10th anniversary, the BBC takes viewers behind the scenes of Nonnatus House and reflects on the series’ most memorable moments. 8:00 PM ET on PBS

    Baking Spirits Bright: TV movie. With the fruitcake industry in decline, the Varma family hires a high-powered marketing exec (Dion Johnstone) to boost their baking company’s sales during the holidays. But when corporate interests take over, daughter Mira (Rekha Sharma) must fight to hold onto the heart of the company she loves so much. Watch trailer. 8:00 PM ET on Lifetime

    Sunday Night Football: The Pittsburgh Steelers and Los Angeles Chargers face off in a game with major AFC implications. 8:20 PM ET/5:20 PM PT on NBC

    Succession: Logan (Brian Cox) and the team head to Virginia for a conservative political conference, where Roman (Kieran Culkin) learns some surprising news about his mother. Watch preview. 9:00 PM ET on HBO

    Yellowjackets: As the teens get their bearings, Misty (Samantha Hanratty) comes into her own. In the present, the adults grapple with feelings of revenge, sex homework, and a policeman formerly known as Goth. Watch preview. 10:00 PM ET on Showtime

    Insecure: A family emergency finds Molly (Yvonne Orji) stretched thin, while Issa (Issa Rae) and her new man grow closer than ever. Watch preview. 10:00 PM ET on HBO

    Curb Your Enthusiasm: While he and his date swap secrets, Larry (Larry David) runs afoul of the rules and regulations at a sushi restaurant. Watch preview. 10:30 PM ET on HBO

    Claire Spellberg Lustig is the TV Editor at Primetimer and a scholar of The View. Follow her on Twitter at @c_spellberg.

    TOPICS: Tick, Tick ... Boom!, Cowboy Bebop, The Morning Show, The Wheel of Time