Type keyword(s) to search

TV This Weekend

Madonna & The Biebs Go Streaming, Kim K. Hosts SNL, and CNN Tackles Diana

ALSO: Ted Lasso wraps Season 2, Fear the Walking Dead, The Equalizer, NCIS: Los Angeles, and more.
  • Photos: Amazon, NBC, Paramount+, CNN, CBS, Apple TV+.
    Photos: Amazon, NBC, Paramount+, CNN, CBS, Apple TV+.

    Two of pop music’s biggest names take over streaming this weekend, as Justin Bieber and Madonna headline new concert docs on Amazon Prime Video and Paramount+, respectively. Plus, Ted Lasso says goodbye after a controversial second season, Kim Kardashian hosts Saturday Night Live, CNN looks at Princess Diana’s life and legacy, and more. Here’s what’s new and noteworthy on TV this weekend:

    FRIDAY OCTOBER 8

    Justin Bieber: Our World: Longtime Bieber collaborator Michael D. Ratner follows the singer as he prepares for his first full concert in three years, the New Year’s Eve 2020 show on the Beverly Hilton rooftop that was live streamed around the world. Watch trailer. Streaming on Amazon Prime Video

    Madame X: Fimed in early 2020 during the Lisbon leg of her Madame X world tour, Madonna is joined on stage by 48 performers, including the pop star’s children, musicians and dancers from around the world, and the Orquestra Batukadeiras. Watch trailer. Streaming on Paramount+

    Ted Lasso: Season finale. Ted (Jason Sudeikis) continues to cope with Sharon’s (Sarah Niles) departure, Rebecca (Hannah Waddingham) debates what to do about Sam (Toheeb Jimoh), and Keeley (Juno Temple) and Roy (Brett Goldstein) pick up the pieces after her revelation. Streaming on Apple TV+

    Leverage: Redemption: Season 1, Part 2. The Hitter, the Hacker, the Grifter, and the Thief return to IMDb TV for the back half of the reboot’s inaugural season. Watch trailer. Streaming on IMDb TV

    Pretty Smart: Complete first season. Book-smart Chelsea (Emily Osment) turns lemons into lemonade when she’s forced to move in with her bubbly sister (Olivia Macklin) and three roommates who show her the true way to happiness. Watch trailer. Streaming on Netflix

    Jacinta: Original film. Shot over three years, this feature documentary tells the story of 26-year-old Jacinta, initially incarcerated at the Maine Correctional Center, as she fights to maintain her sobriety and reconnect with her 10-year-old daughter. Premieres day and date on Hulu and in select theaters. Watch trailer. Streaming on Hulu

    Acapulco: Series premiere. Twenty-something Máximo Gallardo’s (Enrique Arrizon) dreams come true when he’s hired as a cabana boy at the hottest resort in Acapulco, but he soon realizes the job is far more complicated than he ever imagined. In both Spanish and English. Watch trailer. Streaming on Apple TV+

    Muppets Haunted Mansion: Special presentation. The Great Gonzo has done it all, but on Halloween night he embarks upon his greatest challenge yet: spending a night in The Haunted Mansion. Watch trailer. Streaming on Disney+

    Shark Tank: Season premiere. An apparel entrepreneur, a couple with a healthy superfood product, and a high school art teacher with an innovative jewelry storage system pitch their ideas to the Sharks in the Season 13 premiere. Watch trailer. 8:00 PM ET on ABC

    Nancy Drew: Season premiere. A new mystery unfolds for Nancy (Kennedy McMann) ahead of Horseshoe Bay’s annual Harvest Carnival, when the body of a mysterious young man is discovered on carnival grounds. Watch trailer. 9:00 PM ET on The CW

    SATURDAY OCTOBER 9

    Saturday Night Live: Kim Kardashian West makes her SNL hosting debut alongside musical guest Halsey. 11:29 PM ET/8:29 PM PT on NBC

    College Football: Conference play dominates as we approach the midway point of the season:

    • Arkansas at Ole Miss 12:00 PM ET/9:00 AM PT on ESPN
    • Oklahoma vs Texas (from the Cotton Bowl in Dallas, TX) 12:00 PM ET/9:00 AM PT on ABC
    • Maryland at Ohio State 12:00 PM ET/9:00 AM PT on FOX
    • Georgia at Auburn 3:30 PM ET/12:30 PM PT on CBS
    • Penn State at Iowa 4:00 PM ET/1:00 PM PT on FOX
    • TCU at Texas Tech 7:00 PM ET/4:00 PM PT on ESPN
    • Michigan at Nebraska 7:30 PM ET/4:30 PM PT on ABC
    • Alabama at Texas A&M 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on CBS
    • Utah at USC 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on FOX
    • UCLA at Arizona 10:30 PM ET/7:30 PM PT on ESPN

    Impeachment: American Crime Story Marathon: If you haven't been watching, here's your chance to catch up with Ryan Murphy's buzzy take on the Clinton scandal as FX repeats each of  the show's first five episodes in sequence. Beginning at 6:00 PM ET on FX  

    Whose Line Is It Anyway?: Season premiere. Host Aisha Tyler, cast members Ryan Stiles, Wayne Brady, and Colin Mochrie, and guest comedian Heather Ann Campbell put their improv skills to the test as the show returns for its eighteenth season. Two episodes air back-to-back, featuring guest appearances from Kevin McHale and Laila Ali. 8:00 PM ET on The CW

    Dying to Belong: TV movie. A remake of the 1997 film starring Hilary Swank and Sarah Chalke, this Lifetime movie centers on a journalism major (Favour Onwuka) who goes undercover to write a story about hazing practices after her new friend Riley (Jenika Rose) joins a sorority. Also stars Shannen Doherty as Riley’s mother. 8:00 PM ET on Lifetime

    World’s Funniest Animals: Season premiere. Colin Mochrie and Last Man Standing’s Molly McCook guest as The CW's animal-centric viral clip show returns with two episodes back-to-back. 9:00 PM ET on The CW

    South Beach Love: TV movie. New York Times bestselling author Caridad Piñeiro tells a new story about rival quinceañeras, Cuban cooking, friendship, family ties, and romance. Watch trailer. 9:00 PM ET on Hallmark Channel

    SUNDAY OCTOBER 10

    Diana: Docuseries premiere. Princess Diana gets the CNN docuseries treatment in this new six-parter, the latest in a string of recent projects focused on The People's Princess. Episode 1 tracks young Diana Spencer’s upbringing in Norfolk and her parents’ tumultuous relationship. 9:00 PM ET on CNN

    Fear the Walking Dead: Season premiere. Victor (Colman Domingo) and Morgan’s (Lennie James) uneasy alliance is on the verge of unraveling as the Walking Dead spinoff kicks off its seventh season. Premieres on AMC+ ahead of its linear debut next Sunday. Watch trailer. Streaming on AMC+

    NFL Football: The New York Jets and the Atlanta Falcons head across the pond for the NFL’s annual outing in London. 9:30 AM ET/6:30 AM PT on NFL Network

    The Equalizer: Season premiere. Just as McCall (Queen Latifah) is considering ending her work as The Equalizer, she’s pulled back in when Detective Marcus Dante (Tory Kittles) asks for help tracking down a group of bank robbers. Watch trailer. 8:00 PM ET on CBS

    Legends of the Hidden Temple: Series premiere. The CW puts an adult spin on the beloved Nickelodeon game show in this new series that places competitors in a “jungle” and tasks them with various challenges for a chance to win $25,000. Cristela Alonzo hosts. Watch preview. 8:00 PM ET on The CW

    Sunday Night Football: Superstar quarterbacks Josh Allen and Patrick Mahomes face off as the Buffalo Bills and Kansas City Chiefs hit the gridiron. 8:20 PM ET/5:20 PM PT on NBC

    Buried: Docuseries premiere. This four-part docuseries explores how one woman’s repressed memory of her childhood best friend’s murder sparked a national debate about the power and limitations of memory in the courts. Watch trailer. 9:00 PM ET on Showtime

    NCIS: Los Angeles: Season premiere. While Callen (Chris O’Donnell) suspects Hetty (Linda Hunt) of keeping secrets about his past, NCIS must track down an informant whose life is in danger. Watch preview. 9:00 PM ET on CBS

    Killer Camp: Season premiere. Returning for its second season (its first as a CW original), 11 new campers must navigate deadly surprises while competing to expose the “killer” among them for a share of a $50,000 cash prize. Watch preview. 9:00 PM ET on The CW

    SEAL Team: Season premiere. The Bravo team is shocked when they discover that a training exercise is really a covert mission to get a weapons expert out of one of the most dangerous countries in the world. Watch trailer. 10:00 PM ET on CBS

    Work in Progress: Season finale. Abby (Abby McEnany) finds herself ending one relationship just as she begins a new one. 11:00 PM ET on Showtime

    Claire Spellberg Lustig is the TV Editor at Primetimer and a scholar of The View. Follow her on Twitter at @c_spellberg.

    TOPICS: Justin Bieber: Our World, Madame X, Saturday Night Live, Ted Lasso, Kim Kardashian, Madonna