Type keyword(s) to search

TV This Weekend

Cedric the Entertainer Hosts the 73rd Annual Primetime Emmy Awards

ALSO: Ken Burns' Muhammad Ali, Mortal Kombat hits HBO, and college football galore.
  • The Neighborhood star Cedric the Entertainer hosts the 73rd Primetime Emmy Awards, airing live Sunday night. (Photo: CBS)
    The Neighborhood star Cedric the Entertainer hosts the 73rd Primetime Emmy Awards, airing live Sunday night. (Photo: CBS)

    Ted Lasso, Hacks and The Crown are among the favorites to win Sunday night as television’s biggest stars converge at this year’s in-person, socially-distant Emmycast, airing live from the Event Deck at L.A. Live.

    Also this weekend: Ken Burns explores Muhammad Ali’s life and legacy in a new PBS docuseries, Mortal Kombat makes its premium cable debut on HBO, and FOX’s Fantasy Island reboot wraps its first season on a special night. Here’s what’s new and noteworthy on TV this weekend:

    SATURDAY SEPTEMBER 18

    College Football: Week 3 brings a host of exciting matchups:

    • Nebraska at Oklahoma 12:00 PM ET/9:00 AM PT on FOX
    • Cincinnati at Indiana 12:00 PM ET/9:00 AM PT on ABC or ESPN
    • Michigan State at Miami 12:00 PM ET/9:00 AM PT on ABC or ESPN
    • Purdue at Notre Dame 2:30 PM ET/11:30 AM PT on NBC
    • USC at Washington State 3:30 PM ET/12:30 PM PT on FOX
    • Alabama at Florida 3:30 PM ET/12:30 PM PT on CBS
    • Florida State at Wake Forest 3:30 PM ET/12:30 PM PT on ABC or ESPN
    • Georgia Tech at Clemson 3:30 PM ET/12:30 PM PT on ABC or ESPN
    • South Carolina at Georgia 7:00 PM ET/4:00 PM PT on ESPN
    • Auburn at Penn State 7:30 PM ET/4:30 PM PT on ABC

    America’s Top Dog: Season premiere. A&E takes its dog competition to the next level in Season 3 with a new course and more breeds than ever before. Four hour-long episodes air today, followed by four more next Saturday. 12:00 PM ET on A&E

    Mortal Kombat: Premium cable premiere. Six months after it debuted in theaters (and briefly on HBO Max), Warner Bros.’ fantasy epic lands on HBO. The action flick stars Lewis Tan as an MMA fighter who stands alongside experienced fighters and mercenaries to take on enemies from the Outworld. Watch trailer. 8:00 PM ET on HBO

    Imperfect High: TV movie. Sherri Shepherd and Nia Sioux star in this Lifetime drama about a teenager looking to find her place in her new high school, which was rocked by a shocking drug overdose a few years prior. Watch trailer. 8:00 PM ET on Lifetime

    2021 Creative Arts Emmys: Awards show. Guest actors, cinematographers, directors, and other technical craftspeople were honored last weekend at the 73rd Creative Arts Emmys. The two-night event has condensed into a two-hour televised special. 8:00 PM ET on FXX

    Raise a Glass to Love: TV movie. Hallmark’s "Fall Harvest" movie series continues with this romance about an aspiring Master Sommelier (Laura Osnes) who meets a handsome new winemaker (Pablo Di Pace) at her family vineyard. Watch trailer. 9:00 PM ET on Hallmark Channel

    48 Hours: Season premiere. CBS kicks off the 35th season of its flagship true crime docuseries. 10:00 PM ET on CBS

    The Price of Fitting In: TV movie. A mother who must decide how best to save her daughter when she begins hanging with the wrong crowd at school and becomes addicted to drugs. 10:00 PM ET on Lifetime

    SUNDAY SEPTEMBER 19

    73rd Primetime Emmy Awards: Awards show. Ted Lasso and The Crown head into the 2021 Emmys with the most nominations, but will they (and should they) take home the hardware? Cedric the Entertainer hosts. 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT on CBS and Paramount+

    E! Live From the Red Carpet - The 2021 Primetime Emmy Awards: Special presentation. Even with a limited red carpet, E!’s correspondents will be on hand to chat with stars as they head into the show and dissect the best fashion moments of the night. 6:00 PM ET/3:00 PM PT on E!

    Major League Baseball: The Los Angeles Dodgers take on the Cincinnati Reds in ESPN’s Sunday Night Baseball. 7:00 PM ET/4:00 PM PT on ESPN

    Muhammad Ali: Docuseries premiere. Ken Burns’ long-awaited docuseries tracks the life, career, and impact of the three-time heavyweight boxing champion and activist. Episode 1 recounts Ali’s upbringing and his career leading up to the 1964 Sonny Liston fight. Watch trailer. 8:00 PM ET on PBS

    The Circus: Fall premiere. Showtime’s Emmy-nominated docuseries returns to probe the current COVID-19 spike, the Afghanistan crisis, and Joe Biden’s sweeping domestic agenda in the back half of Season 6. Watch trailer. 8:00 PM ET on Showtime

    Fantasy Island: Season finale. A young artist (Matt Pascua) seeks to clear up some unfinished business with his former mentor (Leslie Jordan) as FOX’s revival series concludes its inaugural season. 8:00 PM ET on FOX

    Sunday Night Football: MVP quarterbacks Patrick Mahomes and Lamar Jackson face off as the Kansas City Chiefs take on the Baltimore Ravens. 8:20 PM ET/5:20 PM PT on NBC

    Fiasco: Docuseries premiere. Leon Neyfakh's popular podcast about the country’s most pivotal historical events lands on TV in this new docuseries. Season 1 tells the story of the Iran-Contra affair, the Cold War-era debacle that threatened to take down Ronald Reagan’s presidency. Watch trailer. 10:00 PM ET on EPIX

    Teenage Euthanasia: Series premiere. Maria Bamford, Tim Robinson, Jo Firestone, and Bebe Neuwirth lend their voices to this animated comedy about the Fantasy Family, owners of the Tender Endings funeral home. Watch trailer. Midnight ET on Adult Swim

    Claire Spellberg Lustig is the TV Editor at Primetimer and a scholar of The View. Follow her on Twitter at @c_spellberg.

    TOPICS: 73rd Primetime Emmy Awards, Cedric the Entertainer, Emmys